gateB AG

Shape optimized customer journeys

Shape customer journeys in such a way that they generate the highest revenues

These days, customer journeys are as diverse as the customers themselves. It is difficult to generalize. That is why it is often not easy to implement workable customer journeys with creatively devised “personas.” Even so, they are essential for the customer experience.

Implementing customer journeys requires consistent thinking from the customer aspect, i.e. “outside-in.” This is both correct and important. But if a company really wants to have an impact on the customer journey, it needs real journeys as a starting point. That means the individual points of a customer journey are gathered, in very fine granularity, using appropriate technology. With which topics does the customer engage? Where did he click? How many times has he returned to the website within the last 48 hours? Did he begin to complete a feedback form and then abandon it? All of these provide fact-based insights into actual customer behaviour. Giving a relevant response to the customer while achieving company targets is the aim of customer journey management.

«Not to offer the customer what he desires could be considered as an affront in our age.»

— Robert Schumacher, Director Business Development

The context always has to be taken into consideration. The use of a premium calculator for an existing customer is a different journey from that of a new, unknown customer and requires a different response, sometimes in real time.

A “mini journeys” approach is often used to determine feasibility. During the long course of a customer journey, the critical points (“moments of truth”) have to be identified and then this part of the journey perfectly elaborated. For example, if the customer is at the shopping basket stage, the drop-out rate should be low. Or when the customer has not finished completing a feedback form, we have to help him to do it anyway.

When a company manages this, not only do they minimize obstacles for the customer in doing what he wants, but also demonstrably increase conversion rates, thus contributing to company success.

Download
Guide

Download

Read our guide to learn how to create the perfect customer experience by overcoming the traditional customer lifecycle and replacing it with a customer journey mapping.


Do you want to know more about how to optimize customer journeys?

Gestalten Sie die Customer Journey so, dass sie den grösstmöglichen Ertrag verspricht

Customer Journeys sind heutzutage so vielfältig wie die Kunden. Eine Generalisierung ist nur schwer möglich, deshalb ist es auch oft nicht ganz einfach, mit kreativ erarbeiteten «Personas» operationalisierbare Customer Journeys wirklich umzusetzen.

Sie sind aber essentiell, wenn es um die Kunden-Experience geht. Customer Journeys umzusetzen bedingt ein konsequentes Denken vom Kunden her, also «outside-in». DIes alleine ist schon an und für sich richtig und wichtig. Aber wenn man als Unternehmen wirklich adäquat auf die Customer Journey einwirken will, benötigt man auch die realen Journeys als Ausgangspunkt. Das heisst, die einzelnen Punkte einer Kundenreise werden mittels entsprechender Technologie auf ganz feiner Granularität gesammelt: Welche Themen schaut sich der Kunde an? Wo hat er geklickt? Zum wievielten Male ist er innerhalb der letzten 48 Stunden auf die Website zurückgekehrt? Hat er begonnen, ein Feedback-Formular auszufüllen, dann aber abgebrochen? Alles faktenbasierte Insights aus dem tatsächlichen Kundenverhalten. Auf diese relevant für den Kunden einzugehen und gleichzeitig die gesetzten Unternehmensziele zu erreichen, ist das Ziel des Customer Journey Management.

«Dem Kunden nicht das anzubieten, was er sich wünscht, ist heutzutage eigentlich ein Affront.»

— Robert Schumacher, Director Business Development

Dabei ist der Context immer miteinzubeziehen: Die Benutzung eines Prämienrechners für einen Bestandeskunden ist eine andere Journey als für einen unbekanten, neuen Kunden. Das bedingt vom Unternehmen her auch eine andere Antwort, manchmal auch in «real time».

Um die Umsetzbarkeit sicherzustellen, wird oft der Ansatz von «mini journeys» angewandt. Das heisst auf dem langen Weg einer Kundenreise gilt es, die kritischen Punkte («moments of truth» zu identifizieren und dann dieser Teil der Journey mit Exzellenz auszuarbeiten. Also, wenn die Kunden im Warenkorb sind, dann darf die Abbrecherquote nur gering sein; wenn der Kunde ein Feedback-Formular nicht ganz ausfüllt, müssen wir ihm helfen, dies trotzdem zu tun.

Wenn dies Unternehmen schaffen, mindern sie nicht nur Stolpersteine für den Kunden in dem, was er gerade tun will, sondern erhöhen auch klar und nachweislich Conversion Rates und Abschlussquoten und tragen somit zum Unternehmenserfolg bei.

White Paper
Die Magie von Data Science im Marketing

White Paper

Laden Sie hier unser White Paper herunter, um mehr zu erfahren über die Möglichkeiten, die sich bieten mit datenbasierten Methoden im Marketing.


Wollen Sie mehr dazu erfahren, wie Sie Ihre Customer Journeys optimal gestalten?